Gas News

Premier League & Championship Free Agents 2016

Image for Premier League & Championship Free Agents 2016

As the summer nears and contracts come to an end, should the club have an interest in any of the following free transfers from Premier League and Championship oppositions?

I haven’t done the legwork on this one as lists have been well publicised the last few weeks – I’ve just combined them and updated as best I can to make it accurate – so I take no blame!

So with the caveat of not believing any of these have signed new deals, announced their retirement or already pre contracted themselves to anybody else (discussions may well be underway though), are there any you’d like to line up in the shirt for the 2016/17 campaign?

(Any glaring errors feel free to point out in article comments!)

Some young potentials for the future – experienced internationals maybe ready for one final challenge?

There are certainly plenty of recognisable names – but of course they come with financial commitments even as free transfers.

Or alternatively are there any you would avoid with somebody else’s bargepole!


Premier League – not accounting for U21 players.


Mathieu Flamini (Midfielder)
Mikel Arteta (Midfielder)
Tomás Rosicky (Midfielder)

Aston Villa:

Kieran Richardson (Defender)
Charles N`Zogbia (Midfielder)


Artur Boruc (Goalkeeper)
Sylvain Distin (Defender)
Stéphane Zubar (Defender)


Marco Amelia (Goalkeeper)

Crystal Palace:

Emmanuel Adebayor (Striker)
Adrian Mariappa (Defender)
Damien Delaney (Defender)
Marouane Chamakh (Striker)
Brede Hangeland (Defender)
Paddy McCarthy (Defender)


Darron Gibson (Midfielder)
Tony Hibbert (Defender)
Steven Pienaar (Left-wing)
Felipe Mattioni (Defender)
Leon Osman (Midfielder)

Leicester City:

Mark Schwarzer (Goalkeeper)
Marcin Wasilewski (Centre-back)


Kolo Touré (Defender)
Jose Enrique (Left-back)
João Carlos Teixeira (Midfielder)

Manchester City:

Martín Demichelis (Defender)
Richard Wright (Goalkeeper)

Manchester United:

Michael Carrick (Midfielder)
Cameron Borthwick-Jackson (Left-back)

Newcastle United:

Steven Taylor (Centre-back)
Sylvain Marveaux (Winger)
Gabriel Obertan (Winger)


Alex Tettey (Midfielder)
Steven Whittaker (Right-back)
Gary O`Neil (Centre-midfield)


Valentin Roberge (Centre-back)
Steve Harper (Goalkeeper)
Wes Brown (Centre-back)


Kelvin Davis (Goalkeeper)


Tom Carroll (Midfielder)


Joel Ekstrand (Centre-back)

West Brom:

James Morrison (Midfielder)
Stephane Sessegnon (Forward)

West Ham

Joey O`Brien (Right-back)

Championship –


Wes Thomas (Forward)
David Edgar (Defender)
Lee Novak (Forward)
Neal Eardley (Defender)
Mitch Hancox (Defender)


Tommy Spurr (Defender)
Matt Kilgallon (Defender)
Chris Taylor (Midfielder)
Chris Brown (Forward)
Lee Williamson (Midfielder)
Nathan Delfouneso (Forward)
Simon Eastwood (Goalkeeper)
Simeon Jackson (Forward)


Paul Rachubka (Goalkeeper)
Harry Campbell (Goalkeeper)
Ross Fitzsimmons (Goalkeeper)
Oscar Threlkeld (Defender)
Niall Maher (Defender)
David Wheater (Defender)
Quade Taylor (Defender)
Yvan Wassi (Defender)
Liam Feeney (Midfielder)
Rob Hall (Midfielder)
Neil Danns (Midfielder)
Stephen Dobbie (Midfielder)
Jon Ceberio (Midfielder)
Jordan Lussey (Midfielder)
Emile Heskey (Forward)
Jamie Thomas (Forward)
Tom Eaves (Forward)
Chris Cvetko (Forward)


Gordon Greer (Defender)
Inigo Calderon (Defender)
Andrew Crofts (Midfielder)
Bobby Zamora (Forward)
Adam Chicksen (Defender)


Mark Smith (Goalkeeper)


Matt Gilks (Goalkeeper)
Matt Taylor (Midfielder)
Lloyd Dyer (Midfielder)
Danijel Nizic (Goalkeeper)
Jason Gilchrist (Forward)


Ben Turner (Defender)
Kenwyne Jones (Forward)
Joe Lewis (Goalkeeper)
Etien Velikonja (Forward)
Filip Kiss (Midfielder)


Reza Ghoochannejhad (Forward)
Marco Motta (Defender)


Stephen Warnock (Defender)
Ivan Calero (Midfielder/Forward)
Tom Koblenz (Midfielder)
Mats Morch (Goalkeeper)
Kwame Thomas (Forward)
Shaquille McDonald (Forward)


Karim Matmour (Midfielder)
Ishmael Miller (Forward)
Duane Holmes (Midfielder)
Lloyd Allinson (Goalkeeper)
Joe Wilkinson (Defender)
Ben Holmes (Midfielder)
Ed Wilczynski (Goalkeeper)
Sam Guthrie (Goalkeeper)
Callum Charlton (Midfielder)


Sone Aluko (Forward)
Ryan Taylor (Defender)


Scott Wootton (Defender)
Mirco Antenucci (Forward)
Eric Grimes (Goalkeeper)
Ross Killock (Defender)
Tom Lyman (Midfielder)
Robbie McDaid (Forward)
Jake Skelton (Defender)
Lewis Walters (Forward)


Jonathan Woodgate (Defender)
Damia Abella (Defender)
Jordan Jones (Midfielder)
Andre Bennett (Defender)

MK Dons:

Nicky Maynard (Forward)
Matthew Upson (Defender)
Antony Kay (Defender/Midfielder)
Jordan Spence (Defender)

Nottingham Forest:

Kelvin Wilson (Defender)
Robert Tesche (Midfielder)
Chris Burke (Midfielder)


Josh Brownhill (two-year deal offered)
Neil Kilkenny (Midfielder)
Chris Kirkland (Goalkeeper)
Kyel Reid (Midfielder)
Andy Little (Midfielder/Forward)
Jack Ryan (Forward)
Nick Anderton (Midfielder)
Josh Heaton (Defender)


Clint Hill (Defender)
Alejandro Faurlin (Midfielder)
Robert Green (Goalkeeper)
Armand Traore (Defender)
Yun Suk-Young (Defender)
Samba Diakite (Midfielder)
Oscar Gobern (Midfielder)
Karl Henry and Junior Hoilett (Midfielders) (in discussions with QPR)


Simon Cox (Forward)
Anton Ferdinand (Defender)
Hal Robson-Kanu (Midfielder)


Luciano Becchio (Forward)
Adam Collin (Goalkeeper)
Frazer Richardson (Defender)
Lewis Buxton (Defender)
Danny Collins (Defender)
Lloyd Doyley (Defender)
Paddy Kenny (Goalkeeper)
Alex Cairns (Goalkeeper)
Paul Green (Midfielder)
Emmanuel Ledesma (Midfielder)
Jerome Thomas (Forward)


Bjorn Sigurdarson (Forward)
Razak Boukari (Midfielder)
Tommy Rowe (Midfielder)
Zeli Ismail (Midfielder/Forward)
Aaron McCarey (Goalkeeper)


Share this article

Because We Love Football

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *